Projects

no 1 Je Jardin de Rosée sept. 2019 entr

Main entrance of the school

LE JARDIN DE ROSÉE, DUFOUR HAITI

Parrainage Tiers Monde is proud to be associated with a rural school project in Haiti.

A short and beautiful story

Le Jardin de Rosée is located in a small, very poor rural community (without electricity or running water), about 2 hours from the capital Port-au-Prince, near Miragoane Bay. The vast majority of the inhabitants are illiterate and live from day to day. They eat fish and vegetables from their small vegetable garden. There is no social or sanitary infrastructure. The access road is by motorcycle or truck.

Le Jardin de Rosée started modestly 6 years ago with two groups of 3-year-old children. They were housed in a shelter made of straw walls on the dirt floor. The following year a cement construction was started for 4 groups (2 groups of 3 year olds then 2 groups of 4 year olds) and so on every year. In September 2020 we have students up to the 3rd year of primary school. The school now has around 150 students. Almost every year we have to build new classrooms.

Education is free because parents have no means to pay. In addition, the children are entitled to a free lunch. These are essential conditions for parents to agree to send their children to school. After the age of 6, it is the children who ask to go to school. The children are happy there and learn in a context of physical and emotional security. The teachers are qualified and live on site.

The school is growing. It has become a reference for the whole community. We have to add new premises and hire new teachers on a regular basis. It is a challenge every year. The needs are immense: paying the teachers, feeding the children, building the premises, buying school supplies, games, books, etc. The school is growing and we have to hire new teachers every year. The state does not provide any help.    

                                                 

Rosée Morissette November 13, 2020

Actual costs based on 2021 data according to Jean Joab St Louis, responsible leader of Le Jardin de Rosée in Haiti.

Email letter sent to Lise Aubut (local leader).

 

- To feed the children and staff who will number 175:

155 students and 20 staff by September 2021.

We will need $2200 USD per month. Usually we have 22 days of classes per month, which would cost $100 USD for one day.

 

- At the moment our classrooms are usable but not finished, we need $1500 to completely finish each room from inside to outside. (We have 8 of them).

You can also see videos of the school on YouTube that will help you understand the extent of the needs and the work already done.

As you can see, the needs are so great and any contribution on your part will be greatly appreciated. It is an effort by this proud community to make a difference in their lives through the education of their children.

This is a living example of a humanitarian partnership between a remote community and generous donors who care about the education of the less fortunate.

For every donation made, you will receive a tax receipt from Third World Sponsorship Inc. once a year.

no 2 IMG_1877 classe.jpeg
no 3 Je Jardin de Rosée repas du midi.j
no 4 construction de l,école .jpeg

Construction of the school

Class : please note that the floor and walls are to be coated

Lunch: class where the children eat their sole meal of the day and where lessons are being given

chou carotte.jpg
pepiniere.jpg

TERRIER ROUGE, HAITI

Community Garden GAFATR

GAFATR: creole name meaning: Agricultural Group of Business Women from Terrier Rouge

This project was started in 2007 under the leadership of Sr. Reine Godbout, NDSC and sponsored initially by generous souls from Grand Falls, NB, Canada.

Exceptionally, at the beginning, the project implicated solely women of this small community.

Terrier Rouge is located on the northwest part of the island of Haiti at approximately 40 km from Cap Haitien.

Funds raised were used to purchase two lands. Two wells were dug, one of which was an artesian well and another with a pump to raise the water in a reservoir to irrigate farmland. This system is called "drip by drip", ideal system for the arid lands of Haiti.

This allowed to make two seeds per year with a resting period for the lands; each flowerbed has three irrigation pipes.

Ten years later, in 2017, the project had to be relaunched. It was necessary to plow again and in August 2019, the laborers are still preparing for a new seed.

For the past two years, the workers have had less market gardening and more fruit trees. Banana and papaya trees were planted around the land. In the flowerbeds, they still sow seeds for carrots and cabbages that sell well but also beans of all sorts. These are in great demand and give a better nutritional intake, which they badly need.

The pioneers who participated in this project have now become mature women. However, having worked so hard all their lives, they sometimes become ill.

HAITI TURNS GREEN

Since last spring, in 2019, the agricultural priority of government of Haiti has been focusing on a sustainable reforestation program with all sorts of nutritious trees and on restoring the natural environment.

The system developed by the community garden is an ideal irrigation system for a seedling nursery. This nursery project is a direct result of the community garden project and is perfectly aligned with the vision of the Haitian government’s desired goal: reforestation of Haiti.

There are great challenges and needs for the continuation of this project. Costs associated with this nursery must be absorbed and the following services must be provided: raising the water for irrigation, bringing electricity to the pumps and financing the services of the supervising technician for the whole system.

Donations are always appreciated to help finance the continuation of this garden which is on course with the long-term solutions to breaking the cycle of poverty for the future of the Haitian population.

pionnieres_edited.jpg
African Children

HURRICANE MATTHEW, HAITI

In October 2016, Hurricane Matthew turned out to be very violent and devastating to the southwest of the island. This region had already been affected by the terrible earthquake in 2010. Generous donors contacted us to find out if they could help financially. In total, an amount of $ 5743 was sent and used to repair and help the Haitian population in villages and cities affected by this hurricane and to recover from this great ordeal.

 

This money was used to:

  • purchase school material

  • rebuild or repair schools and religious residences

  • help rebuild lost gardens because of floods

 

Some villages suffered irreparable major damage such as flying roofs and flooded houses.

Six out of nine communities that we help were very much affected. The children lost everything:  home, school, personal belongings.

This support has greatly helped the Haitian population in daily life and to start over once again ....

Inde projet bicyclettes.jpg

BICYCLES IN INDIA

In September 2017, Parrainage received a request from Father Julian inviting us to participate in a large scale project in India. It involved the purchase of 10 bicycles to evangelize in remote areas in Tanaku Province, Godavari West District, in India.

Our mission at Parrainage is to help educate children and seminarians in different countries. The money goes directly to the religious communities that help these children in their studies. Surpluses are rare. Sometimes donors give us gifts that we forward where the need is the greatest.

Judging that this request was well worth helping, a few donors were contacted and we received $ 500, amount required for the purchase of five bicycles. These were given to five theology students who will be ordained priests in 2019.

The photo shows these young missionaries who have evangelization at heart and who have benefited from the generosity of our donors.  They are members of the Missionaries of St. Francis de Sales.

In addition to the projects mentioned above, Parrainage receives various amounts from generous donors.  Some of these funds go for specific needs and others are allocated where there is more urgency.

Projets

no 1 Je Jardin de Rosée sept. 2019 entr

Entrée principale de l'école

LE JARDIN DE ROSÉE, DUFOUR HAÏTI

Parrainage Tiers Monde est fier de s’associer au projet d’une école rurale à Haïti.

Une courte et belle histoire

 

Le Jardin de Rosée est situé dans une petite communauté rurale très pauvre (sans électricité ni eau courante), à environ 2 heures de la capitale Port-au-Prince, tout près de la Baie de Miragoane. La très grande majorité des habitants sont illettrés et vivent au jour le jour. Ils se nourrissent de poisson et de légumes provenant de leur petit potager. Aucune infrastructure sociale ni sanitaire. La route d’accès se fait en moto ou en camion.

 

Le Jardin de Rosée a commencé modestement il y a 6 ans avec deux groupes d’enfants de 3 ans. Ils étaient logés dans un abri fait de murs en pailles sur la terre battue. L’année suivante on a débuté une construction en ciment pour 4 groupes (2 groupes de 3 ans puis 2 groupes de 4 ans) et ainsi de suite à chaque année. En septembre 2020 nous avons des élèves jusqu’à la 3e année primaire. L’école comprend maintenant autour de 150 élèves. Presque à chaque année nous devons construire de nouvelles classes.

L’école est gratuite car les parents n’ont aucun moyen pour payer. De plus ils ont droit au repas du midi gratuitement. Ce sont des conditions essentielles pour que les parents acceptent d’envoyer leurs enfants à l’école. Après 6 ans ce sont les enfants qui demandent d’aller à l’école. Les enfants y sont heureux et apprennent dans un contexte de sécurité physique et affective. Les enseignants sont diplômés et logent sur place.

L’école est en pleine croissance. Elle est devenue une référence pour toute la communauté. Nous devons y ajouter régulièrement des locaux et engager de nouveau enseignants. C’est un défi chaque année. Les besoins sont immenses : payer les enseignants, nourrir les enfants, construire des locaux, acheter des fournitures scolaires, des jeux, des livres etc. L’Etat ne fournit aucune aide.

Rosée Morissette 13 novembre 2020

Vous pouvez également voir sur YouTube des vidéos de l’école qui vous permettront de comprendre l’ampleur des besoins et le travail déjà accompli.

 

Comme vous pouvez le constater, les besoins sont tellement grands et toute contribution de votre part sera infiniment appréciée. C’est un effort de toute cette fière communauté pour amener des changements de vie en passant par l’éducation de leurs enfants.

 

Ceci est un exemple vivant de partenariat humanitaire entre une communauté éloignée et de généreux donateurs qui ont à cœur l’éducation des moins nantis.

 

Pour tout don offert, vous recevrez un reçu d’impôt qui proviendra de Parrainage Tiers Monde Inc. une fois dans l’année.

no 2 IMG_1877 classe.jpeg
no 3 Je Jardin de Rosée repas du midi.j
no 4 construction de l,école .jpeg

Construction de l'école

Classe : à noter que le plancher et les murs sont à revêtir

Repas du midi : local où on sert le seul repas que les enfants prennent dans la journée et qui sert aussi de salle de classe

chou carotte.jpg
pepiniere.jpg

TERRIER ROUGE, HAïTI

Jardin communautaire GAFATR 

GAFATR : appellation créole signifiant Groupement agricole des femmes entreprenantes de Terrier Rouge

Projet débuté en 2007 sous la responsabilité de Sr Reine Godbout, NDSC et parrainé au début par des âmes généreuses de la région de Grand-Sault, N.-B., Canada.

 

Fait exceptionnel, le projet initial impliquait uniquement des femmes de cette petite communauté.

 

Terrier Rouge est situé au nord-ouest de l’île de Haïti à approximativement 40 km de Cap Haïtien.

 

Les fonds recueillis ont servi à acheter deux terrains. Des puits ont été creusés dont un artésien et un autre avec pompe servant à monter l’eau dans un réservoir afin d’irriguer les terres agricoles. Ce système se nomme ‘’goutte à goutte’, système idéal pour les terres arides d’Haïti.

Ceci a permis de faire deux semences par année avec un temps de repos pour les terres ; chaque platebande comporte trois tuyaux d’irrigation.

Dix ans plus tard, en 2017, le projet a dû être relancé. Il a fallu labourer à nouveau et en août 2019, se préparer encore pour une nouvelle semence.

Depuis deux ans, les paysannes font moins de cultures maraichères et davantage d’arbres fruitiers. Autour des terrains, des bananiers et des papayers furent plantés. Dans leurs plates-bandes, elles sèment encore des carottes et des choux qui se vendent bien mais aussi des petits pois de toutes sortes. Ces derniers sont beaucoup en demande donnant un meilleur apport nutritif, ce dont la population a grandement besoin.

Après plusieurs années, les pionnières qui ont participé à ce projet, sont maintenant devenues des femmes matures. Par contre, ayant travaillé tellement fort, leur santé est souvent compromise.

VIRAGE VERT À HAITI

Depuis le printemps 2019, la priorité en agriculture de l’État est le reboisement d’Haïti en plantant des arbres fruitiers de tous genres afin de restaurer l’environnement naturel.

Le système développé par le jardin communautaire de Terrier Rouge est un système d’irrigation idéal pour une pépinière de plantules. Ce nouveau projet de pépinière découle directement du projet de jardin communautaire nommé GAFATR et s’aligne parfaitement avec la vision de l’objectif souhaité du gouvernement haïtien : le reboisement du pays.

Les défis et les besoins sont grands pour continuer ce projet. Il faut absorber les coûts associés à cette pépinière et financer les services suivants : faire monter l’eau pour l’irrigation, obtenir l’électricité pour les pompes et défrayer les services d’un technicien superviseur du système au complet.

Des dons sont souhaitables et toujours acceptés pour aider à la continuité de ce jardin communautaire qui a déjà fait le virage d’un environnement vert pour l’avenir du peuple haïtien.

pionnieres_edited.jpg
African Children

OURAGAN MATTHEW, HAÏTI

En octobre 2016, l’ouragan Matthew qui s’est avéré très violent et dévastateur a touché particulièrement le sud-ouest de l’île. Cette région avait déjà été affectée par le terrible tremblement de terre en 2010.  Ayant eu vent de cette nouvelle, de généreux donateurs ont contacté Parrainage pour savoir s’ils pouvaient aider financièrement. Un montant de 5743$ fut acheminé aux communautés les plus touchées pour aider le peuple haïtien à se relever de cette grande épreuve.

Cet argent a servi à :

  • acheter du matériel scolaire

  • reconstruire ou réparer des écoles et des résidences religieuses

  • aider à la reconstruction des jardins qui ont été inondés

Certains villages ont subi des dégâts majeurs irréparables comme toitures envolées et maisons inondées

 

Six des neuf communautés que nous aidons ont été très touchées, les enfants ont tout perdu : maison, école, effets personnels.

 

Ce soutien a aidé à reprendre une vie et recommencer encore une autre fois.

Inde projet bicyclettes.jpg

BICYCLETTES EN INDE

En septembre 2017, Parrainage a reçu une demande du Père Julian nous invitant à participer à un projet de grande envergure en Inde. Il nous demandait un don pour l’achat de 10 bicyclettes permettant d’aller évangéliser dans la province du Tanaku, district de Godavari Ouest de l’Inde.

La mission de Parrainage est d’aider à l’éducation des enfants et des séminaristes dans une dizaine de pays différents. L’argent des donateurs se rend directement aux communautés religieuses et sert à aider les enfants dans leurs études. Rare sont les surplus. Il arrive que des donateurs offrent des cadeaux et ceux-ci sont remis là où les besoins sont les plus pressants.

Jugeant que la demande du Père Julian était très louable, Parrainage a contacté quelques donateurs.  Rapidement, le message est passé et 500$ sont amassés, montant nécessaire pour l’achat de cinq bicyclettes. Celles-ci furent remises à cinq étudiants en théologie ordonnés en 2019.

La photo présente des jeunes séminaristes qui ont à cœur l’évangélisation et qui ont pu bénéficier de la générosité de nos donateurs. Ils sont membres de la communauté des Missionnaires de St-François de Sales.

En plus des projets cités ci-dessus, Parrainage reçoit différents montants de généreux donateurs. Certains vont à des besoins spécifiques et d’autres sont attribués là où les besoins sont les plus urgents.