Information

In the news

Radio CFAI

Newspaper Info Weekend

Annual letter to our benefactors

News 2019

 

January 21, 2020

Dear benefactors:     HAPPY NEW YEAR 2020!!!

It is with great enthusiasm and gratitude that I come to share with you our achievements and the results of the past year. A very special THANK YOU to the new sponsors and to all those who continue to support us from the start. Thank you also to those who had or will have to leave us for various reasons.

 

COUNTRIES WHERE DONATIONS ARE SENT: Your donations are distributed in nine different countries, but this year two of these countries seem to be more affected politically. However, there is nothing to worry about; rest assured that your donations remain secure and reach their destination.

HAITI: January 2020 was the 10th anniversary of this terrible earthquake and for the past months, this country has known may protest movements, anger born from a fuel shortage, linked to corruption and inflation. Our heroic leaders continue to help the children despite all this chaos. Hopefully, this year the political climate will have recovered and the country can start to enjoy a better life.

Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC): 2019 was marked by the first “civilized transfer of power” in the history of this country. Numerous coups, two assassinations of leaders, two wars ravaged the east of the country between 1996 and 2004. The country is finally experiencing a return to calmer days on the political level but certain regions remain shaken by violence and the presence of rebellions. We know it more like the old Belgian Congo (1908-1960), renamed Zaire from 1971 to 1997 then DRC in 1997. Nicknamed “Congo-Kinshasa” by the locals after its capital, this country, rich in minerals, is the third largest country in Africa.

TRANSFER OF FUNDS: As we mentioned last year, we are reducing our costs by sending only two transfers in 2020. These will be done in June and November and will contain the money collected for 6 months. Rest assured that this does not affect the amount received for each child. Our communities have been notified and fully agree with this new mode of operation. This is in line with the self-sufficiency goals of the new secular council, in place since 2016.

CORRESPONDENCE: We encourage you not to send packages or cash through the mail as this is likely to be intercepted and lost forever. It is always better to go through us, the PTM because we will do it with the next transfer. If you wish to make a Christmas or birthday gift in addition to your annual contribution, you must do so at least 2 months before Christmas. Your cheque (dated 15 Oct 2020) or cash must reach us before October 15, 2020 for it to be part of the November transfer. If it arrives to us after this date, we will have to send it with the June transfer and Christmas will be well over by then.

BREAKING NEWS:

OUR WEBSITE WILL BE LAUNCHED ON MONDAY FEBRUARY 10th, 2020

Here is the link to access it: parrainagetiersmonde.com

 

We believe it to be very informative, responds to requests from people who want to contribute online, gives value to our organization and provides the necessary information that Sponsorship wants to convey. On the other hand, the traditional methods are still in force: cheque, cash and bank transfer. Online by credit card, you will be redirected to the CanadaHelps site. Although this last payment option causes us additional costs, it meets the needs of new generations.

 

The launch will take place at the Diocesan Center, Monday February 10th at 2 p.m. You are all invited to come, meet and share with us. A light snack will be offered. We hope to see you in large numbers. Share with your friends.

 

I would like to thank the team that worked hard on this project; without you nothing would have been possible.

We’re also thinking of sending you some documents online, hence the importance for us to get your email. This would save us the high cost of mailing. All of these changes that we are implementing have the same goal: to try to be financially self-sufficient in the not too distant future and you will be notified.

 

RECRUITMENT: Our recruitment effort this year is combined with the introduction of our website. Share it with your friends, relatives and contacts, the more people who see it, talk about it, better it is for us to recruit other sponsors to help children in developing countries. We would very much like to increase our number of sponsors since so many children are waiting for sponsorship; feel free to share our site. We will be happy to find a child for a new sponsor who will be a source of pride and happiness.

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE: for summer 2020. In order to reduce our administrative costs, the offices will be closed during the months of July and August 2020. However, the director will take care of urgent postal mail periodically during these two months. The office will open after Labor Day in September 2020.

Our hours of operation are also somewhat different for next year. The office will be open Monday to Thursday inclusively but at the following times: 8:30 am to 11:30 am and 12h30 pm to 2 pm.

 

PTM BALANCE SHEET

                                                                            2019              2018

Donations sent to missions  total              $256 973.32    $229 820.79

# children helped :                                             941                944

# communities helped:                                       26                  18

# families helped :                                               14                  15

 

Donations to be sent to missions              $140 457.47   $164 633.13

Donations received for administration         $8951.96        $7605.10

Administration expenses                               $7433.83        $8982.18

*Reminder of reduced transfers to two per year

 

WE ARE REQUESTING ... your phone number and email address if you have not already done so, this will allow us to reach you when necessary.

                

THANK YOU VERY MUCH for supporting us so faithfully, you are providing education to children who would not have had this opportunity. Dreams come true thanks to your contribution, rest assured.

Patricia Thibodeau

President, Board of directors

© 2020 Parrainage Tiers Monde Inc.

(506) 739-8490

P.O. Box 1002 Edmundston, NB E3V 0B4

Information

Dans les médias

Entrevue radio CFAI

Article journal Info Weekend

Lettre annuelle aux parrains

Nouvelles 2019

 

Le 21 janvier 2020

Chers bienfaiteurs et bienfaitrices :     BONNE ANNÉE 2020 !!!

C’est avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme et de reconnaissance que je viens vous partager nos réalisations et le bilan de l’année qui vient de s’écouler.  Un MERCI bien spécial aux nouveaux parrains et à tous ceux et celles qui continuent de nous supporter depuis les débuts.  Merci également à ceux et celles qui ont dû ou devront nous quitter pour diverses raisons.

 

PAYS OÙ SONT DESTINÉS LES DONS :  Vos dons sont répartis dans neuf pays différents mais cette année, deux de ces pays semblent davantage affectés sur le plan politique.  Il n’y a toutefois pas d’inquiétude à y avoir ; soyez assurés que vos dons demeurent bien sécures et se rendent à bon port.

Haïti : Ce fut récemment le 10e anniversaire de ce terrible séisme et depuis deux mois, ce pays connait de nombreux mouvements de contestations, une colère née d’une pénurie d’essence, liée à la corruption et à l’inflation. Nos responsables héroïques continuent d’aider les enfants malgré tout ce chaos. Espérons qu’en 2020, le climat politique se rétablisse et que le pays puisse commencer à jouir d’une meilleure vie.

République Démocratique du Congo (RDC) : L’année 2019 fut marquée par la première "passation de pouvoir civilisée" dans l'histoire de ce pays.  Une histoire marquée par de nombreux coups d'État, deux assassinats des dirigeants, deux guerres qui ont ravagé l'est du pays entre 1996 et 2003. Le pays connait enfin un apaisement sur le plan politique mais certaines régions restent secouées par des violences et la présence de rébellions. On le connait davantage comme l’ancien Congo belge (1908-1960), rebaptisé Zaïre de 1971 à 1997 puis RDC en 1997. Surnommé “Congo-Kinshasa” par les locaux du nom de sa capitale, ce pays, riche en minerais, est le troisième plus grand pays d’Afrique.

ENVOIS : Comme nous avions mentionné l’an dernier, nous réduisons nos frais d’envois tellement dispendieux en acheminant seulement deux envois en 2020. Ceux-ci se feront en juin et novembre et contiendront l’argent amassé durant 6 mois. Soyez assurés que ceci n’affecte en rien la somme reçue pour chaque enfant. Nos communautés ont été avisées et sont totalement d’accord avec ce nouveau mode de fonctionnement. Ceci est en ligne avec les objectifs d’autosuffisance du nouveau conseil laïque, en place depuis maintenant 2016.

CORRESPONDANCE : Nous vous encourageons à ne pas envoyer des colis ou de l’argent comptant par la poste car ceci a toutes les chances d’être intercepté et perdu à jamais. Il est toujours préférable de passer par nous, le PTM car nous le ferons avec le prochain envoi.  Si vous désirez faire un cadeau de Noël ou de fête en surplus de votre contribution annuelle, vous devrez le faire au moins 2 mois avant Noel.  Votre chèque (daté 15 0ct 2020) ou argent comptant devra nous parvenir avant le 15 octobre 2020 pour qu’il fasse partie de l’envoi de novembre.  S’il nous arrive après cette date nous devrons l’envoyer avec celui de juin et Noël sera passé depuis 6 mois.

GRANDE PRIMEUR : NOTRE SITE WEB SERA LANCÉ LUNDI LE 10 FÉVRIER 2020

Voici le lien pour y accéder : parrainagetiersmonde.com

 

Nous le croyons très informatif, répond aux demandes des gens qui veulent contribuer en ligne, donne de la valeur à notre organisme et fournit l’information nécessaire que Parrainage veut véhiculer. Par contre, les méthodes traditionnelles sont toujours en vigueur : chèque, argent comptant et virement bancaire. En ligne par carte de crédit, vous serez redirigés sur le site de CanaDon. Malgré que cette dernière option de paiement nous occasionne des frais additionnels, ça rencontre les besoins des nouvelles générations.

 

 

Le lancement se fera au Centre diocésain, lundi le 10 février à 14h. Vous êtes tous invités(ées) à venir nous rencontrer et partager. Un léger goûter sera offert. On espère vous voir en grand nombre. Partagez avec vos amis(es).

 

Je voudrais remercier l’équipe qui a travaillé à pied d’œuvre à ce projet ; sans vous, rien n’aurait été possible.  Un GRAND MERCI !!!!!!!!!

RECRUTEMENT : Notre effort de recrutement cette année s’allie avec l’introduction de notre site web. Partagez-le avec vos amis, parents et contacts. Plus de gens qui le voient, plus on en parle, mieux ce sera pour recruter d’autres parrains pour venir en aide aux enfants défavorisés dans ces pays lointains. Nous aimerions beaucoup augmenter notre nombre de parrains puisque tellement d’enfants sont en attente de parrainage ; n’hésitez pas à partager notre site. Il nous fera plaisir de trouver un enfant qui procurera fierté et bonheur pour un parraine/marraine.    

 

AVIS IMPORTANT : pour l’été 2020.  Toujours dans le but de réduire nos frais administratifs, les bureaux seront fermés pendant les mois de juillet et août 2020. Par contre, la directrice s’occupera du courrier postal urgent périodiquement pendant ces deux mois. Le bureau ouvrira après la fête du travail en septembre 2020.

Nos heures d’ouverture sont également quelque peu différentes pour l’an prochain.  Le bureau sera ouvert du lundi au jeudi inclusivement mais aux heures suivantes : de 8h30 à 11h30 et de 12h30 à 14h.

 

BILAN PTM

 

                                                                  2019                   2018

Dons envoyés aux missions     total  256 973,32$         229 820,79$

# enfants aidés :                                       941                     944

# communautés aidées :                          26                       18

# familles aidées :                                     14                       15

Dons à être envoyés aux missions    140 457.47$         164 633.13$

Dons reçus pour l’administration        8951,96$              7605,10$

Dépenses d’administration                  7433,83$              8982,18$

*Rappel de réduction des envois à deux par année.

ON DEMANDE… votre numéro de téléphone et votre adresse courriel si ce n’est pas déjà fait, cela nous permettra de vous joindre lorsque nécessaire et nous évitera les coûts élevés de la poste.          

 

MERCI BEAUCOUP de nous appuyer si fidèlement, vous offrez une éducation à des enfants qui n’auraient pas eu cette possibilité. Des rêves se réalisent grâce à votre contribution, soyez-en assurés. 

 

Patricia Thibodeau

Présidente, Conseil d’administration

© 2020 Parrainage Tiers Monde Inc.

(506) 739-8490

C.P. 1002 Edmundston, NB E3V 0B4